Remembering 9/11/01

This weekend remember those who were lost, those who sacrificed their lives that day, and those who have sacrificed their lives in the ten years since.

I remember where I was when I heard the news. I was in grade 9 at the time, just starting high school. I didn’t know much about world politics back then and I wasn’t nearly as engaged in the events of the world as I am now. I remember sitting in class and my English teacher came in and told us what had happened. We all went to the gym and watched on the TVs as the news broadcasts showed us the images of the planes crashing into the World Trade Center and the Pentagon.

For the past ten years, I have been writing on this blog. My news blog is more of a hunting/gathering type of site – I’ve searched for the top story of the day and then collected information from seven major newspapers to form one cohesive article with all viewpoints represented.

Not only is it important that we understand what is happening in our own country, but as Christians we have a huge responsiblity to share hope to the world around us. The internet has made this possible through Facebook, Twitter, chat rooms, online gaming, and other various social networks. I have met some amazing people online in the past ten years, including some soldiers and marines who are risking their lives right now for this very cause. The internet has made the world a bit smaller and brought news events right to our own backyard.

There have been threats of impending attacks this weekend on the United States from al-Qaeda. CNN has warned of these attacks and President Obama is taking them very seriously. I realize that as Canadians this doesn’t affect us directly, but I’m sure that we all know Americans who were either around New York on 9/11 or who are serving their country right now.

Take some time this weekend to reflect, remember, and praise God for the good things he’s given us. As Canadians, we’re truly blessed to live in a free country that doesn’t fight intolerance with war and violence. Yes violent acts do still happen and we do have tragedy here in the north, but our neighbours to the south are struggling economically as well as in the realm of security.

I encourage you to keep the United States in our prayers this weekend and do what you can to reach out to those who need us.

I’m posting a couple of songs/videos on the bottom of this article. Take some time to watch them and reflect. The lines from the one song are what I want to leave you with this weekend:

“But I know Jesus and I talk to God and I remember this from when I was young. Faith, hope, and love are some great things you’ve given… but the greatest is love.”

\”Where Were You When the World Stopped Turning\”

 

\”Stuck In a Moment That You Can\’t Get Out Of\”

Leave a Reply

